Troop 251's History

     With humble beginnings, Troop 251 was formed in 1996 after the folding of its predecessor, Troop 68 of Hammonton.  Meetings were initially held at Winslow Fire Company No. 1.  The troop awarded its first Eagle Scout honor in 1999 to Ken Seiler. 

     In the early 2000’s, the troop moved its meeting location to the Sacred Heart Catholic Church on Route 73, where it remained for several years.  During this time, the troop’s second Scoutmaster, Craig Lindsay, oversaw the awarding of several Eagle Scout honors. 

     In 2005, Jim Latimer became the troop’s third and current Scoutmaster, and is the longest serving Scoutmaster in the troop’s history.  To date, Mr. Latimer has overseen the awarding of 19 Eagle Scout honors.  In 2007, the troop relocated to the Winslow Township Annex Building on Tansboro Road, where they remained for 7 years. 

     In the Fall of 2014, the troop once again relocated to its current home at Winslow Fire Company No. 1.  No longer an active fire station, Winslow Fire Company No. 1 now serves as the home base for both BSA Troop 251 and Girl Scout Troop 30251.   In December 2016, the troop celebrated its 20th anniversary as Troop 251 in Winslow Township.  Today, Troop 251 is thriving and remains dedicated to serving the youth and community of Winslow, while abiding by the ideals and fundamentals of the Scouting movement.